heel markings

rponycar

Hello, I'm a Newb to this site, but a Warmoth fan for a few years.
I have a neck that I bought used a while back, wondering what some of the markings mean. I'm looking to have another made as much like it as possible.
*The number 765
* the BT after 6130
* I'm guessing the SS means stainless steel, but would have guessed it to be near the 6130
All help much appreciated

Attachments

• Heel back2.JPG
    Heel back2.JPG
    40.5 KB · Views: 192
  • heel end2.JPG
    heel end2.JPG
    26.5 KB · Views: 192
From the square cornered overhang, I'd say it was a 24-3/4" conversion neck. On the site, I don't see SS6130 frets listed. Only nickel/silver. Can't help you with the rest. Maybe someone who's more familiar with things will chime in.

The number stamped into the end is likely a production tracking number, which means essentially nothing. It's unusual because it's stamped into the wood, rather than inked, but I'm pretty sure you can still just ignore it.

The hand-written "1.678" is likely the final measured nut width. In this case it's closest to 1 11/16". They're never exact conversions due to sanding.

I'm guessing the "9" is a fretboard radius, as they usually say "Warmoth Radius" if it's a compound radius 'board.

The red dot means it was originally finished with a clear satin, which looks a lot like raw wood, hence the indicator.

I'm guessing the "SS" means Stainless Steel frets, although usually the hand-written wire size is followed by a SS if that's the case. Don't know what "BT" could mean.

The square fretboard end is usually reserved for short (24 3/4", Gibson) scale 'boards.

A caliper, ruler, and a set of radius gauges could be used to check some of that stuff.

Cagey said:
The number stamped into the end is likely a production tracking number, which means essentially nothing. It's unusual because it's stamped into the wood, rather than inked, but I'm pretty sure you can still just ignore it.