Knowing more about tone wood or music theory?

WarmothRules

I don't know how many of you can site read or know all the notes of the neck instantly but my new quest is to learn every thing about music I can. I know way too much about fret wire size, amps, tone woods, scale length, tuners etc...

For your quest:  Musictheory.net is very informative and has a great fretboard trainer.  Music Reading for Guitar: The Complete Method by David Oakes is a good book for learning reading.  I use that along with Guitar Pro/Tux Guitar to check myself (before I wreck myself).  I've found the best way to learn and retain the theory is the same way I studied for college - flash cards for like 15-30 mins a day until it's cemented in your head.  That and actually thinking about it while you are playing/applying the knowledge.  That gets the job done.  Let me know if you want more resources for that type of thing, I know where there's a lot of great music and guitar learning materials, and a lot of it is free online.  I'll PM you with the big list if you want. 

Hey, you can PM me with the big list, I started teaching some new victims this summer and a LOT of these kids have to start netty. I think it's pretty important to wean yourself OFF the computer - reading music, learning music, and playing music seem to me to benefit from certain less-electronicized mental states. But these kids will just go on and on and on "finding" things for me to approve if I don't head 'em off at the pass. The scale and chord "generators" are a killer -

"Hey I found a thing that has all the scales! You just poke this and this, and there's an F# double harmonic minor scale!"

Me, staring at their guitar neck -> "So, where's an F# double harmonic minor scale?"
them, pointing at the computer -> "There! Right there!"

Meems, staring at their fingers -> "So, where's an F# double harmonic minor scale?"
thems, pointing at the computer -> "There! Right THERE!"

Stupid old people... sigh  :sad1: